What Jesus Means to Me — Teacher

Jesus himself offered, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).  Though I was only 16, I was weary and burdened in a way I hadn’t even realized with trying to figure out life and maintain my own security.  Though a weight had been placed upon my shoulders when I embraced this new life, it felt like it weighed nothing compared to what had been there.

As I began to listen to my pastor and others with a new interest and seemingly a new ability to understand, it was as if life-giving nutrients were being intravenously fed into a seriously undernourished and anemic body.  I could not get enough.  I began to experience a new joy and excitement about life, a new meaning to life, that I didn’t recall ever having before.

I remember not long after my conversion that my family took a trip out west and made a stop in an old neighborhood where I spent the majority of my first years in life.  As I stood outside our old house on the corner and let my mind wander over the memories of my time there, a wave of despair rolled over me.  Though my life had been good, I thought, I realized that it had been meaningless up until now.

Jesus gave my life its intended meaning.  He was teaching me what I needed to know about the rest my soul needed.  He was indeed a humble teacher, not pushing, not demanding, but gently leading me in the direction I had needed to go.  What a precious yoke it is!

About thimblefulloftheology

Staff pastor of an evangelical church in Collierville TN just outside of Memphis. Married with four grown children, all married. Thrilled with life in Jesus Christ. View all posts by thimblefulloftheology

Leave a Reply

