One Way to Respond to the Jehovah’s Witness Who Comes to Your Door

I just had a Jehovah’s Witness come to the door.  She seemed like a nice lady.  She had a Jamaican accent (or at least that is as sophisticated as I am at judging Caribbean accents).  I could have listened a long time.  She was inviting me to a convention downtown that would take no offering and was free.  I said I wouldn’t be going and she asked if I was acquainted with Witnesses.  “Yes,” I said, “I had not too long ago met with some of your people and gone through the little book.”  She knew exactly what book I was talking about and said, “Yes, it is a very nice book.”  I immediately answered, “No, it is not a nice book.  It does not give Jesus the honor he deserves.”  “Oh, we believe in Jesus,” she said.  “But you don’t believe he is God,” I said.  Her instant reply was, “But Jesus never called himself God.”

I didn’t go further with her but I wish I had responded this way:

“Ma’am, if you have the slightest openness to hearing contradictory evidence to your claim, I would be happy to share it with you.  Are you open to receiving an opposite viewpoint?”  If she said yes I would have directed her to Revelation 22:12,13, which reads,

Look, I am coming soon! My reward is with me, and I will give to each person according to what they have done.  I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.

The speaker is identified in verse 16 as Jesus.  And he calls himself the Alpha and Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.  So I would direct her attention then to Revelation 1:8,

I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.

Do you see the dilemma for the Jehovah’s Witnesses here?  Jesus takes the same titles as the “Lord God.”  That is blasphemy unless Jesus is actually God.

I remember sitting across the table from the Witnesses with whom I went through the little book and I remember laying out this passage to them.  It was at this point that the woman (it was a couple I was meeting with) took a book out of her purse and began looking up the answer to this passage.  I never heard what that answer was, though I am sure they have one.  It must not have sounded convincing to her.

Now let me be clear about something.  Even if Jesus never did directly say, “I am God,” (though he has indeed by claiming these titles), the rest of the New Testament very clearly proclaims it (John 1:1, for example, which, by the way, cannot be translated the way Jehovah’s Witnesses translate it in their New World Translation, see John 1:1 translation).  And if the apostles and prophets of the New Testament teach it, it is true.

About thimblefulloftheology

Staff pastor of an evangelical church in Collierville TN just outside of Memphis. Married with four grown children, all married. Thrilled with life in Jesus Christ. View all posts by thimblefulloftheology

7 responses to “One Way to Respond to the Jehovah’s Witness Who Comes to Your Door

  • Justin

    Their doctrine is so wide-open to biblical refutation, it’s not even funny. If only every Christian knew their Bible a little bit, we could undo the entire JW religion in a decade. Thanks for posting.

    • thimblefulloftheology

      Thank you for your article that added additional value to my post. You may note that I also added an article from someone who doesn’t even care about the Jehovah’s Witnesses issues but felt a need to care about some individual JW’s. I liked that because it is very easy with any cultists to get so angry with them that we don’t see them as people with feelings. They are stubborn lost people, to be sure, but they need our love and need us, as you are doing, to pursue them with the truth. Thanks for setting the example.

  • gmharris

    Rev 1:1 GOD gave JESUS a revelation…………

    • thimblefulloftheology

      I am guessing that the implication you wish for us to realize is that if God gave Jesus a revelation then Jesus cannot be God. But logically that is a non sequitur, that is, it does not follow logically. Just because God gives something to someone else does not mean they cannot be God. And, of course, the Scripture commonly refers to the Father as God and speaks of Jesus, the Son, as being in submission to the Father, yet this does not mean Jesus cannot be God. There is a definite chain of authority in the Trinity, but authority over another does not mean that person is superior to the other person.

      And this still does not answer how Jesus, in Revelation 22, willingly takes the title that the Father uses of himself in chapter 1.

  • Is Jesus Jehovah? Ask the New World “Translation” (part four) | Mind Renewers

    […] One Way to Respond by a pastor in Tennessee (disclaimer, I know nothing about him, so if he’s a heretic, please let me know! But it’s a good post.) […]

  • Darlie

    I read this wonderful article about the mission work of a JW. I not only have JW’s visit with me but Mormon’s too as, too, they do their missionary work. I wonder why there isn’t but one religion, in respect to God and Christ. I realize that there would not have been a need for 12 different mindsets, if there were but one religion. The Apostles went out and preached the word of Christ and God, they taught it from their understanding and Christ was alright with it. I tend to stay out of the religion debate. I know every perspective that serves God through Christ is warranted and important or Christ would not have trusted 12 others to go out and preach the word and they commissioned others to leave the area they were confined to and spread the word throughout the world. With so many different levels of experience with life and so many different ways to understand one thing, I look at my visitors as being sent by God. I talk and pray with them. Some come back too see me, some call me and we pray. Too me it isn’t about the religion but about the servants and messengers of God through Christ. I am also respected when I explain too my JW and Mormon friends that I am a nonconformist and I won’t be converting over but I will attend a service, I will help them when I can and as my brothers and sisters in Christ we can get the message out there. As some better understand the way a Mormon delivers the message, some better understand the way a JW delivers the message, some better understand the way a Lutheran, Catholic, Baptist, Presbyterian, Methodist, etc etc delivers the message… The message being “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” John 3:16…
    As with all brothers and sisters, we have disagreements but that does not mean I cannot ask my fellow brethren in God to sit down and have a glass of tea and welcome them to my home and pray with them. We too often forget these very important facts about God’s servants and messengers as we hide from the doorbell, speak rudely to our “different”, “false”, “misinformed” brethren or simply slam the door in someone’s face… Jacob was a cheater, Peter had a temper, David had an affair, Noah got drunk, Jonah ran from God, Paul was a murderer, Gideon was insecure, Miriam was a gossiper, Martha was a worrier, Thomas was a doubter, Sara was impatient, Elijah was moody, Moses stuttered, Zaccheus was short, Abraham was old, and Lazarus was dead…. God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the CALLED! Sometimes that knock on the door isn’t intended to conform us but to deliver a message and introduce us to a brother or sister sent to us by God!

    • thimblefulloftheology

      There is nothing wrong, in fact much to be commended, in asking a Jehovah’s Witness or Latter Day Saint to a glass of tea. If, however, we are concerned to spread the message about how one can have an eternally right relationship to God, then we cannot fail to discern what that message is. If a group denies that faith in Christ the Lord alone rather than trusting in our works is the way of eternal life, we are not helping them or those they preach to by viewing them as just another form of the faith. This is a contradiction of the faith and endangers those who believe it. Has God made clear the way to life? If He has we had best be clear about it as well and clear about who bears that message. If all roads lead to Rome despite the many contradictions in those ways, then what is the value of believing anything?

Leave a Reply

